top of page

Child Speak!

Rebecka Price

Professor Dollieslager

English 111 41W

4/1/15

I want you to imagine how children would have spoken during the era of colonization. When English was not recognized as a standardized language and there was no such thing as the Webster’s Dictionary. Currently, I am a teacher assistant at a child daycare center. I hear children say the funniest things. They speak poorly, but that’s simply expected of them. They lack the knowledge of proper grammar and rhetoric. The thing that gets me is most adults laugh. Not because they think the child is stupid, or what have you, I believe it’s simply because everyone used to speak that way. People simply do not realize how ridiculous bad grammar sounds until they hear a child speak. So naturally, it’s important to communicate professionally, for it is required for people to have certain skills before starting a career.

In other words, one needs to have, at the very least, the knowledge of grammar rules. Good grammar in the workplace is important for many reasons. All can agree with Susan Adams, a writer for Forbes magazine, that good grammar reflects one’s intelligence. Her reasoning for this is that those who speak eloquently sound smarter in comparison. She drives home the point that, because of her age, she is more, as she calls it, a “stickler” for grammar. This is a common pattern with those in well paid positions. Adams goes on to make a point that there may be a correlation between good grammar and work ethic (Adams). She cites Kyle Weins, CEO of Fixit, in her article that his job applicants receive a mandatory grammar test before even being considered for a job. This is because Weins believes that thoughtful grammar shows that applicants are in fact as detail-orientated as they say. He goes on to say that, in online media, the words are one’s reflection of themselves. They are what gives people their credibility. Weins believes that “sloppy is as sloppy does.” In other words, if one’s grammar is sloppy, one’s work is too. His company cannot afford to be sloppy; therefore, job applicants that do not pass his grammar test are not considered (Weins).

While grammar is important, there are many communication skills needed for almost every career. I would like to go into the science field, specifically forensic science. In order for someone to become a forensic scientist, one needs a lot of communication skills. To be a forensic science technician, one needs a bachelor’s degree in science at the very least. They must also develop their public speaking, writing, listening, and grammar skills to accommodate that degree. A lot of forensic science is reading another scientist’s reports and writing one’s own reports, and then reciting said reports to a courtroom or law enforcement. One has to listen to other’s opinions and findings, and then compare that to their own finding. They have to learn how to be savvy with computers as well as learn and know law enforcement software and some scientific hardware. One will need to be articulate to an audience correctly and eloquently. They must be professional at crime scene investigations. The work of the forensic scientist is usually what people hear from homicide investigations. It is required to be good at communicating in order to be credible scientist, if one wants to at least remain in the field of science at all (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.).

In regards to my aspirations, I have communication skills I need to work on. Moreover, I have plenty of tools here at Thomas Nelson Community College to get me closer to this aspiration. Through this course, I will not only learn the researching skills I require for my chosen field, but the written portion as well. Reading, in general, is one of my biggest down falls due to the fact that I am an auditory and visual learner. I need to hear the words and see the pictures. This is why I excel in math and sciences because I can see the patterns and cycles. I also have troubles speaking in front of others even when I know exactly what I want to say. I am learning to speak effectively through my public speaking class. I can also receive help from my former professors, as well as helpful information from the library here at Thomas Nelson.

Of course, to communicate professionally, one should be eloquent in their words and know simple grammar rules. One must develop the ability to effectively communicate with other people in a manner that is professional us important in every workplace. Grammar is very important to know how to build sentences, and sound professional. For myself, I have plenty of skills to learn. I am also currently working toward them, one goal at a time. Everyone in their jobs, careers, and dreams must speak eloquently to show they care about what it is they do. It is important to teach others the correct procedures of doing work, to make their lives successful. Making sure to keep up on grammar rules and learning how to reach that dream, anything is within reach.

Works Cited

Adams, Susan. “Why Grammar Counts At Work.” Forbes. 20 July 2010. Web. 21 Jan. 2015. <http://www.forbes.com/sites/susanadams/2012/07/20/why-grammar-counts-at-work/>

Weins, Kyle. “I Won’t Hire People Who Use Poor Grammar. Here’s Why.” Harvard Business Review. 20 July 2012. Web. 21 Jan. 2015. <https://hbr.org/2012/07/i-wont-hire-people-who-use-poo>

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. “Forensic Science Technician.” Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2014. 8 Jan. 2014. Web. 28 Jan. 2015. <http://www.bls.gov/ooh/life-physical-and-social-science/forensic-science-technicians.htm>


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page